IEEE VDL Talk by Shiwen Mao

2 May 2021 @ 17:00 – 18:30

IEEE Virtual Distinguished Lecturer (VDL) Talk, co-organized by the IEEE New York Section Chapter, North New Jersey Section Joint Chapter, IEEE Vancouver Joint Communications Chapter, and other chapters.

TitleRFID for Human Activity Sensing: Challenges, Solutions and Applications 
Presented byProf. Shiwen Mao, Auburn University

Date and time: Sunday, May 2, 2021, at 5 pm (PDT)
Event details and registration info: 
AbstractWith the rapid development of radio frequency (RF) sensing in the Internet of Things (IoT), human activity sensing, detection and tracking have attracted increasing attention. Among the various RF sensors, radio-frequency identification (RFID) has its unique advantages of low-cost, small form factor, battery-free, and robustness to surrounding interference. Beyond its original use of responding stored Electronic Product Code (EPC) data when interrogated by a reader, RFID tags can be used as wearable sensors on the human body. In this talk, we will investigate the various technical challenges on fully exploiting RFID for human activity recognition and tracking, such as frequency hopping, and the noisy and sparse RFID data, and examine potential solutions. We will then review several of our recently works on RFID based human vital sign monitoring, drowsy driving detection, and 3D human pose monitoring and tracking. We will conclude this talk with thoughts on future work in the area.
Biography: Shiwen Mao received his Ph.D. in electrical engineering from Polytechnic University, Brooklyn, NY. He held the McWane Endowed Professorship from 2012 to 2015 and the Samuel Ginn Endowed Professorship from 2015 to 2020 in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering at Auburn University, Auburn, AL. Currently, he is a professor and Earle C. Williams Eminent Scholar Chair, and Director of the Wireless Engineering Research and Education Center (WEREC) at Auburn University. His research interest includes wireless networks, multimedia communications, and smart grid. He is a Distinguished Lecturer of IEEE Communications Society, and is on the Editorial Board of IEEE TWC, IEEE TNSE, IEEE TMC, IEEE IoT, IEEE OJ-ComSoc, IEEE/CIC China Communications, IEEE Multimedia, IEEE Networking Letters, and ACM GetMobile, among others. He received the IEEE ComSoc TC-CSR Distinguished Technical Achievement Award in 2019 and NSF CAREER Award in 2010. He is a co-recipient of the IEEE Vehicular Technology Society 2020 Jack Neubauer Memorial Award, the 2004 IEEE Communications Society Leonard G. Abraham Prize in the Field of Communications Systems, and several conference best paper awards. He is a Fellow of the IEEE.